Diurnal Group PLC – DNL – Directorate Change

Diurnal Group PLC – DNL – Directorate Change

Diurnal Group plc (AIM: DNL), the specialty pharmaceutical company targeting patient needs in chronic endocrine (hormonal) diseases, announces the appointment of three new members to its Board of Directors. Anders Härfstrand joins the Board as Non-Executive Chairman, and Deborah Jorn and Jean-Michel Cosséry join the Board as Non-Executive Directors, respectively, all with immediate effect.  Following the appointment of Anders Härfstrand as Non-Executive Chairman, Sam Williams, who has held the role of Interim Chairman since March 2020, will resume his role as a Non-Executive Director of Diurnal and Board representative of IP Group plc.


Anders Härfstrand is a leader in the pharmaceutical industry with over 30 years' experience and a sustained global track record of success in commercial operations, global marketing management and product development. He has significant executive leadership experience and has successfully built franchises in multiple therapeutic categories across the US, Japan, and the European Union. As the former Global Head of Endocrine franchises at Pharmacia, Pfizer and Serono, Anders has considerable endocrinology experience. Anders has also held several Chief Executive Officer positions, including Humabs Biomed, Adama Agro, BBB Therapeutics, and Nitec Pharma during its merger with US based pharmaceutical company, Horizon. In addition, Anders has substantial board experience across international private and public companies, including Nasdaq-listed Prothena. Prior to joining the pharmaceutical industry in 1988, Anders spent nine years lecturing at the Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm, Sweden, where he earned his MD and PhD in neuropharmacology endocrinology.


Deborah Jorn is a senior commercial executive with more than 30 years of experience of successfully building US and global pharmaceutical businesses through designing and implementing innovative marketing strategies across numerous therapeutic areas, including rare diseases. Most recently, Deborah served as EVP of Corporate and Commercial Development at Eyepoint Pharmaceuticals. Prior to this, Deborah was EVP and Group Company Chair at Bausch Health (formerly Valeant Pharma) where she led the dermatology and gastroenterology businesses. She was Chief Global Marketing Officer at Bausch & Lomb, prior to its acquisition by Bausch Health, and led the successful launch of several new products and the integration of Ista Pharmaceuticals following its acquisition. Previously, she was Group Vice President of Women's Healthcare and Fertility and Allergy and Respiratory at Schering Plough Corporation. Deborah serves on the board of directors of Viveve Medical and Pharming Group. Deborah holds a BA in Biochemistry from Rutgers University in Biochemistry, and an MBA from New York University.


Jean-Michel Cosséry brings over 25 years of global leadership experience as a senior healthcare executive in research, marketing and commercial roles across the pharmaceutical, biotech and medtech sectors. He recently held the position of Non-Executive Director of Kymab before it was acquired by Sanofi in April 2021 and was also Non-Executive Director of Immunocore until its successful Nasdaq IPO in January 2021. Jean-Michel is currently Non-Executive Director at Malin and Exact Therapeutics. In addition, Jean-Michel has held senior leadership roles in marketing, science and general management for leading pharmaceutical companies, including Eli-Lilly as Vice-President, North American Oncology, as well as Managing Director Northern Europe, and GE Healthcare as the Chief Marketing Officer and Vice-President Global Marketing. He has also been Chair of The American Pharmaceutical Group in the UK, as well as a board member of the Association of British Pharmaceutical Industry. Jean-Michel holds an MBA from the Rotterdam School of Management (Erasmus University), The Netherlands, as well as a PharmD and a PhD in Nuclear Chemistry and Neurobiology from University Paris, France.


Martin Whitaker, Chief Executive Officer of Diurnal, commented:

"We are excited to be welcoming three very experienced new members to our Board with significant expertise from across the pharmaceutical industry, particularly in building commercial operations, as we continue to grow our international presence through our approved products for cortisol deficiency. On behalf of the Board, we would like to thank Sam Williams for his considerable contribution as Interim Chairman since March 2020, during which time the Company has achieved a number of significant value inflection points with its two lead products, and we are pleased that he will continue on the Board as a Non-Executive Director. We look forward to drawing on the strengthened Board experience as we continue to focus on our vision of becoming a world-leading specialty endocrinology company."


Anders Härfstrand, Non-Executive Chairman of Diurnal, commented:

"I am delighted to join the Board of Diurnal at an exciting time in the Company's evolution and to build upon the rich and successful history it has in developing endocrine products addressing important clinical needs. Through this clinical expertise, Diurnal has established a solid commercial foundation and Deborah, Jean-Michel and I are looking forward to working with the Board and the senior management team as we seek to advance Diurnal's global growth ambitions."


Following today's appointments, the Diurnal Board will comprise of nine directors, four of whom including the Chairman are Independent Non-Executive Directors (Anders Härfstrand, Deborah Jorn, Jean-Michel Cosséry and John Goddard), two Non-Executive Directors (Sam Williams and Alan Raymond) and three Executive Directors (Martin Whitaker as Chief Executive Officer, Richard Bungay as Chief Financial Officer and Richard Ross as Chief Scientific Officer).


Additional information:


The following information is disclosed pursuant to Schedule Two paragraph (g) of the AIM Rules for Companies:


Karl Anders Olof Härfstrand (aged 65) holds, or has held, the following current and former directorships in the past five years:


Current Directorships

Previous Directorships in the last five years

Härfstrand Consulting AG

Humabs BioMed SA

Oasmia AB

Karolinska Development AB

Prothena Corporation plc


Anders Härfstrand does not currently hold any shares in the Company.


Deborah Ann Jorn (aged 63) holds, or has held, the following current and former directorships in the past five years:


Current Directorships

Previous Directorships in the last five years

Pharming Group NV

Orexigen Therapeutics, Inc.

Viveve Medical


Deborah was a director of Orexigen Therapeutics, Inc. in 2018 when the company filed for Chapter 11 Bankruptcy Protection in March 2018, following which she resigned from the board, the company was subsequently acquired by Nalpropion Pharmaceuticals.


Deborah Jorn does not currently hold any shares in the Company.


Jean-Michel Yves Sylvain Cosséry (aged 62) holds, or has held, the following current and former directorships in the past five years:


Current Directorships

Previous Directorships in the last five years

Exact Therapeutics AS

Kymab Group Ltd

Jean-Michel Cosséry

Immunocore Ltd

Malin plc

Malin Life Sciences Holdings Ltd


Jean-Michel Cosséry does not currently hold any shares in the Company.


Save as set out above, no further information regarding Anders Härfstrand, Deborah Jorn or Jean-Michel Cosséry is required to be disclosed pursuant to Schedule Two paragraph (g) of the AIM Rules for Companies.

No Comments

Post a Comment