Chairman Succession & Appointment of Independent Non-Executive Director

Epwin Group Plc (AIM: EPWN), the leading manufacturer of energy efficient and low maintenance building products, with significant market shares, supplying the Repair, Maintenance and Improvement ("RMI"), new build and social housing sectors, announces that after almost 10 years as Chairman, Andrew Eastgate has given the Board notice of his intention to retire as Chairman and step down as a director of the Company at the conclusion of Epwin's AGM on 21 May 2024.


The Board is pleased to confirm that Andrew will be succeeded as Chairman following the AGM by Stephen Harrison, an existing independent Non-Executive Director of the Company. Stephen has been a member of the Board since November 2022, and was most recently Chief Executive Officer at Forterra plc, a London Stock Exchange Main Market listed supplier of building materials to the UK's construction sector. Stephen has over 20 years experience in the construction materials sector.


The Group is also pleased to announce the appointment of Kathy Callaghan to the Board as an independent Non-Executive Director with effect from today. Kathy was most recently Group HR Director at Rotork Plc, a FTSE 250 engineering Group, and a member of the executive team and Board ESG Committee with responsibility for global HR, communications and external affairs. She has extensive experience leading HR strategy in large organisations, having held senior roles in Dyson, Vodafone and Lloyds Bank. She is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development and is currently a Non-Executive Director and Trustee of Tetbury Hospital Trust.


Andrew Eastgate, Chairman of Epwin, commented: "I am delighted to welcome Kathy to the Board and look forward to the valuable contribution I am sure she will make, drawing from her years of experience in substantial multi-site manufacturing businesses. For me, it has been a great pleasure to see the development of the Group over the last ten years, particularly, the expansion of its range of products and materials, as well as the successful integration of acquisitions and consolidation of its operations.  I see the business as well placed for the future, with a strong balance sheet, low debt and an experienced management team.  When I step down at the AGM, I will be ably succeeded by Stephen as Chairman and I wish him, the Board and the Group continued success in the future."

Jon Bednall, CEO of Epwin, commented: "I am very pleased to welcome Kathy to the Board and look forward to her contribution.  At the same time, and on behalf of the Board and the Group, I extend our grateful thanks to Andrew for his dedicated service as Chairman and for the enormous contribution he has made to the development of the Group in the time since the IPO.  He has led the Board with wisdom, integrity and pragmatism, ensuring the highest standards of governance and will be a tough act to follow."

No Comments

Post a Comment